Three for Dinner

Yesterday, my husband and I celebrated our twentieth anniversary. Elder had football practice, but we took Younger with us to a local restaurant for dinner.

After hearing our plans to include him, Younger said, “Now, you and Dad, you guys sit however you want. You know,” he continued with his little grin, waving his hands in the air between the two of us in an embarrassed manner, “if you want to sit next to each other, on the same side, I mean, you know, just wherever you might want to sit.”

Well, now.

Permission to sit next to my husband in a crowded restaurant.

From my teenager.

At least he assumes that after twenty years of marriage we still like each other well enough to share a bench seat.

So, I’ll take his offer as a compliment.

And his embarrassment, well, I take that as pure opportunity.

2 responses to “Three for Dinner

Leave a Reply

