That Thing I Can’t Talk About

On Saturday, Elder will celebrate his eighteenth birthday.

Which makes me sad that he’s not my little boy any longer.

Until I remember days like the one in April of 2002 when he was five-years-old…

Elder hasn’t been feeling well lately. I haven’t been feeling tops myself, either, I guess. Two facts that often lead to strife in our household.

The other day, after he had watched a few cartoons, he asked to watch another. I told him that he had watched enough television. Immediately, he cranked into full wail.

“Why not?” he sobbed.

“Well, like I just told ya, you’ve watched enough television today,” I responded.

“Mom, can I just watch one more?”

“No.”

“Why not?”

“Because you’ve watched enough television today.”

“Mom, I didn’t get to watch Scooby Doo. Can I watch Scooby Doo?”

“No.”

The crying increased a notch. “Why not?”

“Because you’ve watched enough television today.”

After a few  more rounds, I told him I wasn’t going to argue with him. He knew my reasons, and I didn’t want to talk about it anymore.

“What are your reasons?” he questioned.

“Because you’ve watched enough television today.”

“But can I watch Pokémon?”

“Elder, no.”

“Why not?”

“You really don’t want to ask that question.”

“Why not?”

“Because I’ve already answered it. I won’t be a very happy Mommy, if I have to answer again.”

“What was your answer?”

“Elder, I don’t want to talk about it anymore.”

“Can I watch Veggie Tales?”

“Elder!”

“Huh?” He sniffed. “Can I?”

“No.”

“Why not?”

“Stop talking about it, Elder.”

So, eventually, still sniffing, he crawled to the sofa, curling around a pillow. He allowed me a few minutes peace then he announced, “But, Mom, I sure would like to do that thing I can’t talk about.”

Eyes bugging, I bit my lip, keeping my face towards the computer and my back towards the kid. “Elder, let’s be quiet. Okay?”

“But, Mommy, you want me to be happy, right? It sure makes me sad not to be able to do that thing I can’t talk about.”

My husband rescued Elder with a trip to Grandpa’s, and in 2002, I didn’t know if he would actually survive to adulthood…

…But he has, apparently.

Happy 18th Birthday, Elder!!

 

 

One response to “That Thing I Can’t Talk About

Leave a Reply

