Good for Me

“You need to eat some fruit,” I instructed Younger as he fixed a lunch of macaroni and cheese.

“Sure, I’ll eat some fruit,” he replied, cheerily. He pointed at some brightly wrapped candy in a dish. “I’ll eat some fruit.”

I busied myself cutting my peach into uneven slices. “I don’t think so.”

“Mom, there is a cherry on the package.” For some reason, he sniffed at the cheesy concoction melting in a pan to determine its consistency. Apparently satisfied, he turned his attention back to the discussion of candy. “So it has to be good for me.”

Sad thing is, he’s fifteen.

Sadder thing is…

I joined him.

Leave a Reply

